What the changes to Flickr mean to this blog

With SmugMug (a fine service, by the way) purchasing Flickr from Yahoo in April 2018, users were waiting to see what would change.  Unfortunately, free Flickr users (like me, though I was a long-time Flickr Pro user) got used to having 1TB of storage space for free.  The changes have been announced, and it sounds like more expensive versions of the offerings of old, with updates for today’s usage.

In the olden days, free users would be allowed to upload 100MB/month, with limited number of sets (think albums), and limited in resolution.  10 years later, 100MB might be just 25 photos before you hit the limit, not even one photo per day.  Old Pro cost $25/year and made many things unlimited – resolution, sets/albums, uploads, etc.  I think videos might have had some limitation, but this was before YouTube was bought by Google and vlogging/life-streaming became a thing.  Also, digital photos and videos were lower resolution than today and took up much less hard drive space.

Starting January 8, 2019, free users will be allowed to store 1000 photos/videos.  Starting February 5, 2019, those limits will be enforced, with the oldest content getting deleted until the 1000 item limit is reached.  Backup your files before this, no matter if you decide to go Pro or not.  New Pro will cost $50/year, and you get unlimited storage at full resolution (videos capped at 10 minutes), no ads, and advanced statistics.  Luckily, I mostly used Flickr as one of many backups.  I also set-up automatic backups to Google Drive, OneDrive, Amazon Photos, Box, and Dropbox, in addition to multiple separate physical hard and USB flash drives.

I haven’t decided what to do yet.  I have started removing some photo albums, and I’m sure I’ll remove more photos, though individually selecting them will take a real long time.  I had over 16000 items in there, so I might just buy Pro for at least a year (with the early bird discount of $35) until I can bring it down to a more manageable level. I would prefer that they would allow grandfathered content to stay, meaning if you were over the 1000 item limit, you would only get to see the most recent 1000 items, and everything else would stay hidden in your account.  Should you delete any content, old or new, still the most recent 1000 would be available.

The biggest problem would be the potential break in photo links throughout this blog.  It would be too difficult to go through every single post and write down which photos/videos are used to make sure they are in the 1000 saved.  I might just keep my favorite albums and leave it at that.  If a photo link is broken, I would hope a reader would inform me and I can re-link it from another host.

What’s your take?

Advertisements
This entry was posted in blog, Flickr and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s