Eurotrip Appendix III: Adventures of Cake Toy Prime in England

In Bermuda 2011, my labmates got me a birthday cake with Transformers figures (the inferior Bay versions) on it.  After 3 years of celebrating Pi Day there, I figured they would know I prefer pie to cake.  Oh well.  The toys made the cut on what to bring home and what to leave behind on the island.  I used them to stage another birthday photo the next year.

Do you know of the Flat Stanley Project?  Perhaps you remember the subplot in the French film Amélie, where her father’s garden gnome was stolen, traveled around the world, and returned.  I decided to take the Optimus Prime cake toy with me through Europe, as a stand-in for me, since I was reluctant to hand over my camera to strangers to take photos of me.  On the rare occasion that I did, they took terrible photos.  I did some selfies, as evidenced by the Touching Famous Landmarks gallery.  I figured Optimus Prime would be a little more recognizable than the Bumblebee figure, as the former was changed less than the latter for the Bay-ified designs.  I had considered taking my Deep Tea Diver that was a gift from another couple of friends, but with the infuser being see-through, I thought it might be tougher to show up on camera and its small footprint meant it might not stay upright on various terrains.

Adventures through England:

Hanging out at Stonehenge

Checking out the Roman baths in Bath

Hoping for a little privacy while taking a bath

Sizing up a Moai statue at the British Museum in London

Trying to get a view of the Rosetta Stone at the British Museum

Climbing over a replica of the Rosetta Stone at the British Museum

Viewing the remnants of London’s Olympic Park

A little jealous of the custom-made Optimus in a toy store window in Westfield Stratford City (The Entertainer maybe?  He’s down in front of the right foot of the center Predator)

Hanging out at The Gherkin (30 St. Mary Axe) in London

Wishing to be part of the lineup at Arsenal’s Emirates Stadium

Standing on Tony Adam’s right shoulder at Emirates Stadium in London

Joining me for a mid-tour interview at the All England Club at Wimbledon outside London

Taking in the view of Centre Court at the All England Club at Wimbledon outside London

Check out the full gallery if you wish, the rest of the photos will get their own posts shortly.

This entry was posted in blog, Europe, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eurotrip Appendix III: Adventures of Cake Toy Prime in England

  1. Pingback: Eurotrip Appendix IV: Adventures of Cake Toy Prime in Sweden | One City At A Time

  2. Pingback: Eurotrip Appendix V: Adventures of Cake Toy Prime in Italy | One City At A Time

Leave a Reply

