Vote or don’t, I don’t care

Honestly, I don’t care. I really dislike talking about politics. When friends or co-workers are discussing issues, I’ll leave or avoid saying anything because I often end up disagreeing with someone about something, and some people never let up. If there is something I dislike more than talking politics, it’s being told I’m wrong for my opinion. In today’s enlightened era, people will usually leave you alone for your choice of religion or faith (or affiliation by birth). Why can’t they do the same with politics? Is it because the choices on offer can affect their way of life? With religion, there are dozens to hundreds of options. With voting, there are rarely more than three options, typically “yes or no” or “this guy or that guy”.

I ended up voting by mail, only because I do have some opinions on the issues on this go-around. It also means I don’t get an “I voted” sticker that I can wear into a Ben & Jerry’s to get a free scoop of ice cream. It’s a secret ballot, so don’t go asking how I voted or why I voted a particular way. You may choose not to vote, possibly because nothing sways your fancy, you don’t care about a particular issue, or you don’t feel informed enough to make a decision. All are fine reasons, just don’t complain in three years because things aren’t going well for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

